How Scotland’s EU referendum results will be declared 


Close UK polling means Scotland result could be vital to overall result 

THURSDAY NIGHT and Friday morning will bring a nervous wait for supporters and opponents of the European Union.

Almost 400 separate declarations will be made across England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland and Gibraltar to determine the total result. 

Those hundreds of results – largely structured around council authorities – are then tallied within 12 electoral regions, one for Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland and eight English regions. 

Scotland will declare results in 32 council authorities, with the national result confirmed in Grangemouth by the counting officer for Scotland. 

The Electoral Commission, which is the watchdog for the election process, has released expected declaration times for each area and a media guide to the process.

Sunderland is expected to be one of the first results in England around 12.30am, followed by council declarations until 7am in the morning. Reporters and commentators will be paying close attention to varied results across the UK, with Scotland, Northern Ireland and London expected to be pro-Remain – with rural England and the South East expected to have a higher Leave vote. 

Expected declaration times for Scotland are listed below. It is worth noting that the speed of declarations varies due to numerous factors on the night, so can change depending on the circumstances.

CommonSpace will provide live updates on twitter through the night. The site will also host a livestream by Independence Live from the Glasgow results.


Comhairle nan Eilean Siar – 1.30am
Angus – 2am
Clackmannanshire – 2am
North Ayrshire – 2am
Shetland Islands – 2am
South Lanarkshire – 2am
Stirling – 2am
East Ayrshire – 2.15am


Dundee City – 2.30am
Orkney Islands – 2.30am
North Lanarkshire – 2.30am
East Lothian – 3am
East Renfrewshire – 3am
Falkirk – 3am
Inverclyde – 3am
Moray – 3am
Renfrewshire – 3am
West Dunbartonshire – 3am


Aberdeen City – 3.30am
Dumfries and Galloway – 3.30am
City of Edinburgh – 3.30am
Midlothian – 3.30am
West Lothian – 3.30am
Perth and Kinross – 3.30am
Argyll and Bute – 4am
Fife – 4am
Scottish Borders – 4am


East Dunbartonshire – 4.30am
Aberdeenshire – 5am
Glasgow City – 5am
South Ayrshire – 5am
Highland – 5am

Picture courtesy of Martin Deutsch

Note: Feedback suggested that the Electoral Commission declaration times were wildly optimistic, and the BBC Scotland predictions – in line with previous elections – has been added in their place.

Check out what people are saying about how important CommonSpace is. Pledge your support today.